Board of Directors

The IES Board of Directors consists of up to 15 members who are environmental professionals, business leaders, and community members with a wide range of experience and expertise. Many are owners and managers of corporations which provide technical, economic, and policy services. Others are leaders in government organizations. All Board members share an active commitment to the mission and goals of IES, and are dedicated to improving the environment. If you are interested in the IES Board of Directors, please send an email to

More information: Board of Directors Job Description.

Kristen Bertuglia :

Kristen Bertuglia

Sr Research Associate, Emeritus
Environmental Sustainability Director
Town of Vail Community Development

Briana Gunn : President

Briana Gunn


Environmental Affairs Director
Newmont Mining Company

John Kelly :

John Kelly

Legislative Performance Auditor
Colorado Office of the State Auditor

Sean Mangus :

Sean Mangus

Vice President; Manager, ESG
Iron Mountain Inc.

Tony Miller :

Tony Miller

Chemical Engineer, P.E.

Allison Robinette : Secretary

Allison Robinette


Assistant Attorney General
Colorado Office of Attorney General

Luke Swaney : Treasurer

Luke Swaney


Treasurer; Director of Finance at WES


Adam Wylie :

Adam Wylie

Director, Global Responsibility at Leprino Foods

Board of Directors Alumni

Vivian Bonham, CPA :

Vivian Bonham, CPA

Accounting and Finance Professional
Denver, CO

Sarah Ann Bourassa :

Sarah Ann Bourassa

Marketing Coordinator
Hogan Lovells US LLP
Denver, CO

On leave

Floyd Boyard :

Floyd Boyard

Manager, Analytical Department
Marathon Oil Co. (retired)
Denver, CO


Lisa Cavanaugh :

Lisa Cavanaugh

V.P. Organizational Effectiveness and Business Strategy, Magna Energy Services
Golden, CO

Elizabeth V. Gardener : Emeritus

Elizabeth V. Gardener


Suburban Conservation Coordinator
Public Affairs Division
Denver Water

Valerie Gleaton :

Valerie Gleaton

Managing Editor
HealtheCareers Network
Centennial, CO

Tiffany Joye :

Tiffany Joye

Environmental Attorney
Caterpillar Inc.
Peoria, IL

David W. Knapp :

David W. Knapp

City Manager
City of Highland Park
Highland Park, IL

Frank Kvietok, Ph.D. :

Frank Kvietok, Ph.D.

Director of Application Development
Tersus Solutions, Littleton, CO

Andrew C. (Andy) Lillie :

Andrew C. (Andy) Lillie

Associate Attorney
Hogan Lovells US LLP
Denver, CO

Laurie Manderino, Ph.D. :

Laurie Manderino, Ph.D.

Sustainability Policy Consultant
Denver, CO

Amy McGuire : Emeritus

Amy McGuire


Contracts Manager, Youth Services
Goodwill Industries of Denver
Denver CO

Shannon Oliver :

Shannon Oliver

Assistant Director of Energy and Sustainability, Adams 12-Five Star School District
Denver, CO

Kel Rayens :

Kel Rayens

Research Associate
BBC Research & Consulting

Lauren Rosenkranz :

Lauren Rosenkranz

Environmental Scientist
Environmental Resources Management
Denver, CO

Jennifer Schick :

Jennifer Schick

Denver, CO

Joe Sexton :

Joe Sexton

Marketing/Strategy Consultant
Gathered Foods
Denver, CO

Lindsey Stegall :

Lindsey Stegall

Manager, Policy & Regulatory Affairs, Colorado Energy Office
Westminster, Colorado
Kathleen Thaxton :

Kathleen Thaxton

Senior Sales Professional
Arvada, CO

Michael Verdone, Ph.D. :

Michael Verdone, Ph.D.

Associate, BBC Research and Consulting
Denver, CO

Elizabeth Woodruff :

Elizabeth Woodruff

Process Engagement Manager
Denver, CO